MINUTES

JOINT MEETING OF THE OZARK FOOTHILLS REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION, THE OZARK FOOTHILLS DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION, THE OZARK FOOTHILLS SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT COUNCIL & ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND THE RIPLEY COUNTY PUBLIC HOUSING AGENCY

AUGUST 29, 2019 SAM A. BAKER STATE PARK, SHELTER #1

7:00 PM

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 P.M. by Chairman Gene Oakley.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND FINANCIAL REPORTS

On a motion made by Commissioner Vince Lampe and seconded by Commissioner Jesse Roy, the minutes of the meeting held June 20, 2019 and financial statements for the Quarter ending June 30, 2019, were approved.

SPECIAL GUEST PRESENTATION

Director Felicity Ray presented to the group on the 911 mapping and addressing project in the absence of Ms. Susan Cunningham of Spatial Data Research. The mapping and addressing data for Carter County is now being held and maintained by the regional planning commission. Presently, Andrew Murphy is primary staff for the effort. Approximately six delivery routes remain to be approved by the United States Postal Service.

TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Transportation Planning Coordinator Andrew Murphy presented the outcomes of the regional prioritizations conducted for proposed maintenance, multi-modal, and primary projects. The TAC's prioritization meeting was held July 11, 2019.

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT

Recycling Center Supervisor Jamie Lansford reported that the Center is unable to sell some collected commodities due to import reductions imposed by China.

Director Ray presented the Ozark Foothills Solid Waste Management District (SWMD) FY 2019 Annual Report as an attachment to *Resolution #OFSWMD-2019-01*. On a motion made by Commissioner Brian Polk and seconded by Ms. Margaret Carter, *Resolution #OFSWMD-2019-* 01, authorizing submission of the SWMD's FY 2020 Annual Report to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, was approved.

OZARK FOOTHILLS DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION

Director Ray informed the group that Steadfast Training, LLC. executed a lease agreement during September 2019 for two of the business incubator spaces. They plan to occupy the two spaces for approximately one year.

OZARK FOOTHILLS REGIONAL COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

Assistant Director Crystal Jones reported upon activities of the Ozark Foothills Regional Community Foundation (OFRCF). The OFRCF fund balance was reported as \$1,467,947.67.

Dr. James Preston from the University of Missouri presented to OFRCF board members on the *Tax Cuts and Jobs Act: Implications for Charitable Giving* on August 29, 2019. The meeting was held in downtown Poplar Bluff and hosted by Board Member Jan Brown.

RIPLEY COUNTY PUBLIC HOUSING AGENCY

Housing Coordinator Niki Harp reported upon the Section 8 Rental Assistance Program. At the time, the Ripley County Public Housing Agency was providing rent and utility subsidies for 376 households. In addition, thirty-nine veterans were also being served via the Veterans Affair Supportive Housing (VASH) program set aside. Exactly 244 families remained upon the Section 8 Rental Assistance Program waiting list, which remained closed.

NEW GRANTS RECEIVED

Assistant Director Jones reported upon grant awards during the prior quarter. They were summarized as follows:

- Ozark Foothills RPC, U.S. DOC, EDA, Vista Volunteer;
- Ozark Vitality, U.S. DOC, EDA, Disaster Supplemental Tourism Cluster Project, \$286,061;
- Ozark Foothills Regional Planning Commission, MODOT, Transportation Planning Program, \$64,706;
- Ozark Foothills Solid Waste Management District, MDNR, SWMD District Operations, \$92,675;
- Ozark Foothills RPC, U.S. DOC, EDA, Economic Development Planning Program, \$70,000;
- Ozark Foothills RPC, OFSWMD, Ozark Foothills Recycling Center, \$81,675;
- City of Van Buren, MO DED, CDBG, Public Safety Building, \$350,000; and,
- City of Doniphan, MDNR, Park Renovation; \$26,321.

GRANT APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED

Director Ray reported that five grant applications were submitted during the prior quarter. A summary of each proposal was provided to those in attendance as an attachment to *Resolution* #302. A motion was made by Commissioner Jesse Roy and seconded by Rev. Greg Kirk authorizing submission of the proposals. No opposition was expressed and the motion carried.

DIRECTOR REPORT

Director Ray reported the FY 2019 Annual Report will be available no later than September 30, 2019.

Auditors from Schultz, Wood, and Rapp reviewed files and financial documentation from Fiscal Year 2019 during early August. No errors were found within the Section 8 rental assistance case files. Director Ray commended the staff for the accomplishment. Audit reports should be available for viewing at the December 2019 meeting.

A Volkswagen Trust workshop to be conducted by staff of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources has been scheduled for September 10th at the regional planning commission. Attendees will learn about grant funding for the replacement of non-governmental trucks-including those owned by private sector and non-profit entities.

The CDBG Disaster Recovery funding application deadline is October 24, 2019. Proposed projects must address unmet housing needs.

Director Ray informed the group that the December 2019 commission meeting will be held at the Ozark Foothills Regional Planning Commission office on the second Thursday of the month.

Assistant Director Jones has completed section two of five of the *Carter County Hazard Mitigation Plan*. Feedback regarding hazard mitigation actions within the county was solicited. Residents were encouraged to complete an online survey and local officials were encouraged to complete their jurisdiction-specific *Data Collection Questionaires*.

GENERAL DISCUSSION

There was no general discussion.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 8:00 P.M.

Respectively Submitted,

ATTENDANCE

COMMISSION MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

JESSE ROY, JR. ROBERT SMITH MARGARET CARTER VINCE LAMPE PAUL JOHNSON DR. GENE OAKLEY CARROL RAINWATER DARRELL DEMENT BRIAN POLK CHAD HENSON RON KEENEY REP. CHRIS DINKINS GREGORY KIRK KEVIN BYNUM BILL MORIARTY

COMMISSION MEMBERS NOT IN ATTENDANCE

JOHN MURRAY GLEN SEDRICK WAYNE OGDEN RICK JULIUS MIKE HOERNER JOE LOYD GARY CONWAY, JR. STANLEY BARTON PAUL WOOD DENNIS COX BERNARD ALLEN ANGELA CLYBURN WILLIAM KIRKPATRICK SANDY JOY WAYNE GIBBS SAMANTHA REED MILDRED COURSEY RUSSELL FRENCH SAMANTHA PENNINGTON-EVANS

GUESTS

GEORGIA WOODS GARY EMMONS PAMELA S. KIRK CATHY LAMPE GEORGIA DEMENT JUDY OAKLEY KIM ELLIOT RONDA POLK

<u>STAFF</u>

JAMIE LANSFORD DAVEY HICKS CRYSTAL JONES ILENE WARD

CAMILLE DONNELL NIKI HARP CHELSAE CORDIA RICHARD KETCHUM ALAN LUTES FELICITY RAY ANDREW MURPHY