MINUTES

OF

THE OZARK FOOTHILLS TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

OCTOBER 10, 2019 OZARK FOOTHILLS REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

ELLINGTON CITY HALL, ELLINGTON, MISSOURI

I. Call to Order

Vice-Chairman Vince Lampe called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

II. Open for Public Discussion

No discussion ensued.

III. Adoption of July 11, 2019 Minutes

The minutes of the July 11, 2019 TAC meeting were reviewed. The minutes were adopted on a motion by Jesse Roy, Ripley County, and second by Butch Anderson, Butler County.

IV. Missouri Department of Transportation Reports

David Wyman, MoDOT Southeast District, informed the TAC that today was Safety Day at MoDOT. For the last few years, MoDOT takes a day, stops work and talks about safety with all employees statewide. Items such as how to react during a hazardous spill, first aid, etc. are reviewed. Safety is the number one priority at MoDOT, and the event has been well received since it was implemented.

The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission held their most recent meeting in the Southeast District at West Plains. Lots of funding opportunities are in motion as MoDOT received an INFRA grant valued at \$81.2 million to assist with funding the Rocheport Bridge replacement. Due to this grant being awarded, \$301 million in bonding will now take place to repair and/or replace 215 bridges around the state. The Governor's Bridge Program is providing \$50 million to start the initiative by funding the repair and/or replacement of 45 bridges across the state. Those bridges are already programmed in the STIP, consequently, there will be \$50 million freed up to fund additional projects.

The Governor's Cost-Share program is about to close its application cycle. That funding source is a 50/50 grant program with funding that can be used on off-state roads and bridges. Within the Ozark Foothills Region, Butler County and the City of Poplar Bluff applied for funding.

Chris Crocker, MoDOT Southeast District, announced that MoDOT's internal rescission occurred on October 1, 2019, however, release of the exact breakdown of numbers has been

delayed. MoDOT's Central Office is still investigating the different ways of rescinding funds. New balances, including those within the BRO program, should be made available to the counties soon. Mr. Crocker wanted to remind those in attendance that soft match for the BRO program can only be used on pre-approved bridges that are found on MoDOT's bridge eligibility list.

Four applications to MoDOT's TEAP program were submitted from the Southeast District; however, none were from the Ozark Foothills Region. The Federal Land Access Program (FLAP) issued a call for projects and has \$3 million available with a December 16th application deadline.

Mike Brandon, MoDOT Southeast District, provided a TAC 101 presentation to the committee. The US Department of Transportation delegates funding to the states for transportation planning. The regional planning commissions in the state are natural planning partners. The regional planning commissions established transportation advisory committees consisting of elected officials and citizens to incorporate a "grassroots" effort within the planning process.

The TAC acts as a liaison between MoDOT and the citizens in its region regarding transportation related issues. The committee is tasked with identifying transportation needs within the region for economic development, capacity, maintenance, safety concerns, and other related issues. The TAC prioritizes these needs and can help to educate the public on transportation issues.

Mr. Brandon also provided a handout with work zone updates for Highway 53 along the Butler/Dunklin County line, Route Y in Carter County, Highway 21 in Iron and Reynolds Counties and Highway 142 in Oregon and Ripley counties. The earlier mentioned Cost-Share application deadline is October 18, 2019, with a second future deadline of April 24, 2020.

V. Transportation Planning Coordinator Report

Regarding the Poplar Bluff Railroad Overpass Project, Ozark Foothills Transportation Planning Coordinator Andrew Murphy informed the TAC that construction of the project is complete. The road was opened to traffic on August 30, 2019.

The scheduled July 18th MoDOT LPA Advisory Committee meeting to have taken place in Jefferson City was canceled. A short conference call was held in August regarding potential changes to the requirements for MoDOT's pre-approved consultant list. The next scheduled meeting is October 17, 2019 in Jefferson City. Mr. Murphy hopes more details will be forthcoming regarding the BRO funds rescission.

Applications to serve on the LPA Advisory Committee were opened in August and had a September 30 submittal date. Jesse Roy informed those in attendance that he applied to serve on the committee.

Mr. Murphy informed the TAC that he will be out of the office from mid-November until the first full week of January with the birth of his third child. Mr. Murphy stated he will be working one day a week in December. Questions for him should be directed to Executive

Director Felicity Ray or Assistant Director Crystal Jones during that time frame.

VI. Old Business

Mr. Murphy provided a letter written from the Ozark Foothills Transportation Advisory Committee, signed by Chairman Brian Polk that was sent to all federal representatives in July 2019. The letter addressed the possible repeal of the FAST Act Budget Rescission, which will greatly affect the BRO program. No responses were received from US Senator Roy Blunt, US Senator Josh Hawley, nor Congressman Jason Smith's office. The federal rescission is set to occur on July 1, 2020, with MoDOT having performed an internal rescission effective October 1, 2019.

VII. New Business

Mr. Murphy provided the calendar year 2020 meeting schedule. The schedule remains the same as 2019, with meetings scheduled on the second Thursday of January, April, July, and October.

VIII. General Discussion

No discussion ensued.

IX. Adjournment

Jesse Roy moved to adjourn. Vice-Chairman Lampe adjourned the meeting at 6:44 p.m.

TAC ATTENDANCE ROSTER

October 10, 2019

Mr. Andrew Murphy Ozark Foothills RPC

Mr. Vince Lampe **Butler County** Mr. Don Anderson **Butler County** Mr. Mike Gossett **Carter County** Mr. Jordan Collins **Carter County** Mr. Tom Wilder **Carter County Reynolds County** Mr. Joe Loyd Mr. Eddie Williams **Reynolds County** Mr. Doug Warren **Reynolds County**

Ms. Renee Warren Reynolds County (alternate)

Mr. Jesse Roy
Mr. Gary Emmons
Mr. Dennis Cox
Mr. Chad Henson
Mr. Doug Wood
Ripley County
Ripley County
Wayne County
Wayne County

Ms. Georgia Woods
Mr. Mike Brandon
Mr. David Wyman
Mr. Chris Crocker
Ms. Elquin Auala

Wayne County (alternate)
MoDOT Southeast District
MoDOT Southeast District
MoDOT Southeast District

Mr. Jeff Woods Guest

THOSE NOT IN ATTENDANCE

Mr. Dennis LeGrand **Butler County** Mr. Jeff Darnell **Butler County** Mr. Bill Robison **Butler County** Mr. Ron Keenev **Carter County** Mr. Wayne Gibbs **Carter County** Ms. Renee Horn **Reynolds County Reynolds County Mr. Darrell Dement Ripley County** Ms. Rickie Maples Ms. Tami Hale **Ripley County Wavne County** Mr. Brian Polk **Wayne County** Mr. Bill Kirkpatrick Ms. Angela Smith **Wavne County**