MINUTES

JOINT MEETING OF THE OZARK FOOTHILLS REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION, THE OZARK FOOTHILLS DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION, THE OZARK FOOTHILLS SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT COUNCIL & ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND THE RIPLEY COUNTY PUBLIC HOUSING AGENCY

DECEMBER 9, 2019 3019 FAIR STREET, POPLAR BLUFF, MO 63901

7:00 PM

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 6:51 p.m. by Second Vice -Chairman Paul Johnson.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND FINANCIAL REPORTS

On a motion made by Commissioner Vince Lampe and seconded by Commissioner Jesse Roy, the minutes of the meeting held August 29, 2019 and financial statements for the quarter ending September 30, 2019, were approved.

SPECIAL GUEST PRESENTATION

Director Felicity Ray presented to the group on Census 2020: Significance, Timeline, & Marketing Tools.

TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Transportation Planning Coordinator Andrew Murphy informed the group that he has been out of the office since November 14, 2019. Congress stopped the rescission; the BRO funding formula and dollars allocated will remain unchanged. At a meeting with multiple regional planning commissions and MODOT representatives, it was discussed to combine the Safety Coalitions. Assistant Director Crystal Jones has been added to the executive committee for the Southeast Coalition for Roadway Safety.

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT

Recycling Center Supervisor Jamie Lansford reported that the center is currently unable to sell products due to low market prices. The center remains fully staffed.

In an effort to increase revenue member Chad Henson suggested charging for commercial cardboard service.

OZARK FOOTHILLS DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION

Director Ray informed the group that six of the eight incubator spaces are currently occupied. Lease renewals for calendar year 2020 are underway.

OZARK FOOTHILLS REGIONAL COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

Assistant Director Crystal Jones reported upon activities of the Ozark Foothills Regional Community Foundation (OFRCF). The OFRCF fund balance was reported as \$1,442,905.66.

The OFRCF Board of Directors is currently recruiting a member from Reynolds County. Sister Anne Francioni resigned earlier in the year.

The Friends of Carter County is now working with the OFRCF to accomplish its goal of restoring the Carter County Courthouse. Tax exempt donations to the effort can be made to the OFRCF.

RIPLEY COUNT PUBLIC HOUSING AGENCY

Housing Coordinator Ilene Ward reported upon the Section 8 Rental Assistance Program. The Ripley County Public Housing Agency had 362 vouchers filled. In addition, thirty-nine VASH vouchers, dedicated specifically for homeless veterans, were also filled. Exactly 104 families remained upon the Section 8 Rental Assistance Program waiting list.

Family Self Sufficiency (FSS) Coordinator Carolyn Meeks reported that there were thirty-five families participating in the FSS Program. Fourteen families were participating within the Home Ownership Program.

NEW GRANTS RECEIVED

Assistant Director, Crystal Jones, reported upon the grant award received during the prior quarter. It was summarized as follows:

• Ripley County Public Housing Agency, U.S. Department of HUD VASH Voucher allocation, to be determined.

GRANT APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED

Director Ray reported that nineteen grant applications were submitted during the prior quarter. A summary of each proposal was provided to those in attendance as an attachment to *Resolution* #303. A motion was made by Commissioner Vince Lampe and seconded by Ms. Margaret Carter authorizing submission of the proposals.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Director Ray reported that the on-site external audit work for the Ozark Foothills Regional Planning Commission and associated entities was completed during August 2019. The final reports are expected soon. Electronic copies will be available upon request once received; hard copies will be available for the viewing at the March 2020 meeting.

The Community Development Block Grant Program has not yet announced application training workshops for its FY 2020 grant program.

Assistant Director Jones stated that CDBG has created an online survey to assist in its development of an action plan for priority community programs in 2020.

The March commission meeting will be held March 12, 2020. The location has yet to be determined.

A planning committee meeting will be scheduled for the Ripley County Hazard Mitigation plan revision effort.

Director Ray acknowledged Family Self Sufficiency Coordinator, Carolyn Meeks for ten years of service and Recycling Center Supervisor Jamie Lansford for fifteen years of service. Gifts of appreciation and recognition were provided to both.

Resumes for the Executive Director position were due by December 9, 2019. Due to a lack of attendance for this evening's executive committee meeting, the resumes received will be evaluated at a later date.

GENERAL DISCUSSION

No general discussion.

ADJOURNMENT

On a motion made by Mayor Dennis Cox and seconded by Ms. Margaret Carter, the meeting was adjourned at 7:57 P.M.

Respectively Submitted,

Dr. Gene Oakley, Chairman

Date

Ms. Margaret Carter, Secretary

Date

ATTENDANCE

COMMISSION MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

DENNIS COX	GEORGIA WOODS	
JOE LOYD	RON KEENEY	VINCE LAMPE
KEVIN BYNUM	MILDRED COURSEY	JESSE ROY, JR.
SANDY JOY	MARGARET CARTER	CHAD HENSON
RUSSELL FRENCH	PAUL JOHNSON	

COMMISSION MEMBERS NOT IN ATTENDANCE

ROBERT SMITH	STANLEY BARTON	WAYNE GIBBS
JOHN MURRAY	PAUL WOOD	DARRELL DEMENT
GLEN SEDRICK	BERNARD ALLEN	SAMANTHA JOHNSON
WAYNE OGDEN	BRIAN POLK	DR. GENE OAKLEY
RICK JULIUS	CARROLL RAINWATER	SAMANTHA
MIKE HOERNER	ANGELA CLYBURN	PENNINGTON-EVANS
GARY CONWAY, JR.	BILL KIRKPATRICK	REV. GREGORY KIRK

GUESTS

KIMBERLY ELLIOT

TOM E. WILDER

GINA LOYD

GARY EMMONS

LISA LANSFORD SARAH FRENCH

STAFF

JAMIE LANSFORD
CRYSTAL JONES
CAMILLE DONNELL
ANDREW MURPHY
FELICITY RAY

ILENE WARD

DAVID FOSTER RICHARD KETCHUM DAVEY HICKS ALAN LUTES CAROLYN MEEKS NIKI HARP CHELSAE CORDIA BROOKE HINKLIN TIFFANY SHEFFY KEONA FERGUSON